World Natural Heritage Beš Aral

An Initiative of Alliance For Nature

SchneeleopardIn summer 2004, Dipl.Ing.Christian Schuhböck, landscape ecologist from Vienna, visited all the landscapes and cultural monuments in Kirigstan that the government of this Central Asian country considered to submit for inclusion in the UNESCO World Heritage List. Travelling by car, jeep and on horseback, he visited a series of buildings, objects of the cultural and historical heritage as well as forest and lake landscapes around the famous Lake Issykul, in the Tien-Shan - mountains and along the Silk Road. Compared to the more than 250 other World Heritage Sites the Austrian experts had visited over the past 10 years he found only one of the Kirgistan sites worthy of becoming UNESCO heritage, i.e. the several thousand years old stone inscriptions of Saymaluu-Tash at approx. 4000 meters above sea level. Schuhböck reported on his findings to the Kirgistan National Commission for UNESCO, including his reservations concerning some of the envisaged nominations. Instead, the ecologist suggested the area of Beš Aral in Western Kirgistan as potential natural heritage because it is habitat to extremely rare animal species such as the red wolf and the snow leopard. The so far hardly protected area in which poaching is going on, ought to profit from the protection of the international community, thus safeguarding the survival of mountain goose, red wolf and snow leopard.

In a meeting on July 20th, 2004, this suggestion was discussed with Ms. Adash Toktosunova, Secretary General of the Kirgistan National Commission for UNESCO, and Prof. Emil Shukurov, University of Bishkek; on this occasion, Christian Schuhböck in his capacity as Secretary General of Alliance for Nature, a Vienna-based association for the protection of nature, culture and landscapes, offered to elaborate the necessary documentation for a possible initiative “World Natural Heritage Beš Aral”. The minutes of the meeting stipulate to introduce the Beš Aral area in the tentative list and to nominate it at the earliest possible date. The minutes were signed as the official basis for future procedures on World Natural Heritage project Beš Aral on August 2nd, 2004 in Bishkek, the capital of Kirgistan.

In December 2004, Alliance for Nature was informed that Kirgistan had established a special commission for the nomination of potential world heritage sites. In March 2005, Christian Schuhböck was invited to a talk with the Kirgistan Ambassador in Vienna, in which he was told that the Kirgistan government is intending to prepare the nomination of the Beš Aral area already in the course of this year and that Mr.Schuhböck should come to Bishkek to study and work on the relevant scientific documents.

Mr.Schuhböck and other members of Alliance for Nature would be happy to undertake this task, they are, however, not in a position to come up for incurring expenses, particularly as far as the flight Vienna-Bishkek-Vienna and the subsistence costs in Kirgistan are concerned. Therefore, the organization Alliance for Nature would kindly ask for relevant support.

ALLIANCE FOR NATURE
A-1160 Wien, Thaliastrasse 7
Tel: +431 893 92 98
Mobile : +43 676 419 49 19
www.AllianceForNature.at

Weltnaturerbe Beš Aral

englische Version

Eine Initiative der Alliance For Nature

SchneeleopardAlliance For Nature hat schon einige Naturlandschaften und Kulturdenkmäler in den Kreis der UNESCO-Welterbestätten geführt. In Österreich verdanken die Semmeringbahn und die Wachau dieser Natur- und Kulturschutzorganisation ihren Welterbe-Status. Nun will sie in Kirgistan den Lebensraum einer der bedrohtesten Tierarten der Welt dem Schutz der internationalen Staatengemeinschaft unterstellen.

Im Sommer 2004 bereiste der Wiener Landschaftsökologe Christian Schuhböck alle jene Landschaften und Kulturdenkmäler Kirgistans, die seitens dieses zentralasiatischen Landes für die Aufnahme in die UNESCO-Welterbe-Liste nominiert werden sollten. Per PKW, Jeep und zu Pferd besichtigte er rund um den berühmten Issykul-See, im Tien-Schan-Gebirge und entlang der Seidenstraße eine Reihe von Bauwerken, kulturhistorische Zeitzeugen sowie Wald- und Seenlandschaften. Im Vergleich zu den über 250 Welterbestätten, die er im Laufe der vergangenen zehn Jahre bereiste, befand er nur die mehrere tausend Jahre alten Steininskriptionen von Saymaluu-Tash in rund 4.000 Meter Höhe als welterbewürdig. Über seine Erkenntnisse berichtete Schuhböck der kirgisischen UNESCO-Kommission und gab auch seine Bedenken gegenüber den geplanten Welterbe-Nominierungen bekannt. Stattdessen schlug der Ökologe das Beš-Aral-Gebiet im Westen Kirgistans als potentielle Weltnaturerbestätte vor, da dieses äußerst seltene Tierarten wie den Rotwolf und den Schneeleoparden beheimatet. Das bis dato nur relativ gering geschützte Gebiet, welches auch von Wilderern heimgesucht wird, sollte den Schutz der internationalen Staatengemeinschaft genießen und dadurch das Überleben der Berggans, des Rotwolfs und des Schneeleoparden sichern helfen.

Vom Vorschlag zum Beschluss

In der Konferenz vom 20. Juli 2004 wurde der Vorschlag mit der Generalsekretärin der kirgisischen UNESCO-Kommission, Frau Adash Toktosunova, und Prof. Emil Shukurov von der Universität Bishkek besprochen, wobei Christian Schuhböck als Generalsekretär der Alliance For Nature anbot, die dafür erforderliche Dokumentation im Rahmen der Initiative "Weltnaturerbe Beš Aral" seitens seiner Organisation erstellen zu lassen. Ein in diesem Zusammenhang aufgesetztes Protokoll hält fest, dass das Beš-Aral-Gebiet auf die Vorschlagsliste ("tentative list") gesetzt und zum ehestmöglichen Zeitpunkt nominiert werden soll. Das Protokoll wurde als offizielle Grundlage für die weitere Vorgangsweise zum Weltnaturerbe-Projekt Beš Aral am 2. August 2004 in Bishkek, der Hauptstadt Kirgistans, unterzeichnet.
Im Dezember 2004 erhielt Alliance For Nature die Nachricht, dass in Kirgistan eine eigene Kommission zur Nominierung potentieller Welterbestätten gegründet wurde, in der Prof. Shukurov für das Naturerbe zuständig ist. Gemäß des Protokolls vom 2. August 2004 wurde denn auch das Beš-Aral-Gebiet auf die Vorschlagsliste gesetzt. Sobald der UNESCO offiziell die Vorschlagsliste übersandt wurde, wird Alliance For Nature im Rahmen der Initiative "Weltnaturerbe Beš Aral" die erforderliche Dokumentation erstellen. Zu diesem Zweck werden Sponsoren gesucht, die diese außergewöhnliche Initiative zum Schutz des Rotwolfs und Schneeleoparden unterstützen.

Spendenkonto:

Bank Austria
BLZ 12000
Kontonummer 00 677 090 300
IBAN: AT13 1200 0006 7709 0300
BIC: BKAUATWW